2012 Laser Fleet

GTYC Fall Regatta & BABEL CUP

Stuursma Repeats! The 2012 GTYC LASER Fall Regatta and second leg of the BABEL CUP was held  on Saturday September 29th.  It was a “Chamber of Commerce Day on West Grand Traverse Bay”.

Sixteen boats (12 standard rig, 4 radial) sailed in the 5 race no throw out series.  The breeze filled in at noon and built to the mid teens by race four.  RC/PRO Jordon Owen ran four legs in each race and ended race five with six legs.

Jeff Ragains was hot out of the box and won race one followed by Jamie Stuursma and Frank Reeg. After 3 races Ragains and Stuursma were tied at five points each, with a “shoot out at the OK Corral” in the making. Reeg was holding on to top junior/standard rig and tied with Than Dykstra for third. The breeze built to the low/mid teens for races four and five. The battle was on between Stuursma and Ragains, breeze on, hiking hard up wind and surfing downwind. When the dust settled,  Stuursma was able to hold off Ragains to repeat as Fall Champion and defend his hold on The BABEL CUP. Congrats Jamie. Tom Babel finished 3rd  overall, followed by Dykstra and Reeg.

In the Radial Fleet, GTYC’s Dirk Phelps sailed a strong regatta placing first, seventh over-all with 35 points. Ryan Clulo was second Radial with 45 points followed by Sarah Corder (top female) in third.

After racing the fleet enjoyed some hot dogs from WARES FROSTY TREAT and cool beverages. Thanks to Jim Sorbie and his crew for on the water support and pictures, and to Sally Corder for registration. The fleet is looking forward to the 2013 Spring Regatta next May.

Results:  2012 GTYC Fall Regatta 

1st   Jamie Stuursma   2,1,2,2,2         09    1st BABEL CUP 2nd   Jeff Ragains  1,3,1,3,3    11
3rd   Tom Babel                          5,6,3,1,1         16
4th   Than Dykstra                      4,2,5,4,4         20
5th   Frank Reeg                         3,4,4,11,5        27   Top Junior 6th   G. Peet   31
7th   D. Phelps                                                  35   Top Radial    8th   R. Clulo   45    Radial
9th   A. Cornwell                                               47    Top Cornwell 10th  S. Corder  53    Radial/woman
11th  S. Cornwell                                              55
12th  S. Corder                                                 57
13th  J.Corder                                                   60
14th  W. Cornwell                                             69
15th  M. Cornwell                                              72
16th  G. Cornwell                                               74 

 2012 GTYC Spring Regatta 

The 2012 GTYC Laser Spring Regatta was held on May 12, 2012. The racers were greeted by a light 5-10 mph Northerly breeze under sunny skies. Over a dozen Radial and standard rigs sailed in the five race, no throw-out series.  

The standard rig fleet was dominated by Jamie Stuursma (GTYC) with a total of six points. His boat speed, solid tactics and great starts proved unstoppable by the remainder of the fleet. Jeff Ragains (Chicago) sailed a strong series to finish second. Past spring champion Jon Forton (GTYC) finished third.  

In the radial fleet, Dirk Phelps sailed strong to win the gold medal. He was followed by Ryan Clulo and Colton Gerber in second and third respectively. 

Results for the Regatta are here.  

Special thanks to Jordon Owen (PRO), Jim Sorbie & crew (support, pictures), Team Phelps (on the water support) and Bob Clark (on the water support). After racing, the fleet was treated to cold refreshments and hot dogs from WARES FROSTIE TREAT.  

2012 Tuesday Night Sailing Is Back

Come Juniors!  Come Masters! Come beginners! Come Vets! Lets get the numbers back up that we’ve had in years past and have some fun on Tuesday Nights!  IT’S TUESDAY NIGHT! 

START THINKING ABOUT.....The water is still very cold  on May 12th. Have a birthday coming up? ... ask for a DRY SUIT!   the fleet. Stuursma held off a last run challenge by Forton to win the race and the championship. Forton had to settle for the silver medal with Dykstra taking the bronze. Stuursma was also the overall winner of the Babel Cup with a 2nd in the spring regatta combined with his win in the fall regatta for a total of three points.

Than Dykstra was second in the cup with four points. After racing the fleet enjoyed some Chili Dogs from WARES FROSTY TREAT with college football on the big screen. The fleet looks forward to the 2012 Spring Regatta next May. 

Complete Results Fall Regatta: 

1) Jamie Stuursma 10 pts - 1st Babel Cup 3pts
2) Jon Forton 12
3) Than Dyksta 13 - 2nd Babel Cup 4pts
4) Tom Babel 16
5) George Peet 24
6) Todd Vigland 30

Submitted by Tom Babel  Tombabelsailing@charter.net


Conditions of Use  //   Privacy Policy //  © 2011, Grand Traverse Yacht Club  - All rights reserved. 
Our trademarks and copyrights are aggressively protected by the law firm Traverse Legal  //  
Please report broken links or other website issues to the webmaster  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software